loader image
Women Who Won The Nobel Peace Prize And Why Maria Ressa Is Next
By Mika Reyes
Follow by Email

We're claiming it! We believe that Maria Ressa is going to win the Nobel Peace Prize just like all these other women before her.

Related: A Filipino Film Might Be In The Oscars! Here’s What We Know About Aswang

On February 2, 2021, it was reported by Rappler that Maria Ressa, Reporters Without Borders, and Committee to Protect Journalists were all nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize. This nomination came from Jonas Gahr Støre, a Norwegian labor leader and parliamentary representative. This is a huge achievement by Ressa and the media groups, because of the prestige that is tied to the coveted award. According to Jonas Gahr Støre, “A Nobel Peace Prize for these organizations will be a recognition of the work they do, and it will recognize the thousands of journalists who report on conflicts.”

The Nobel Peace Prize has been around since 1901, a total of 119 years ago. It was established by recognized and respected Swedish industrialist, inventor, and armaments. The other Nobel Prizes include: Chemistry, Physics, Physiology or Medicine, and Literature. For the Nobel Peace Prize, the winner is selected by the Nobel Committee where they will be shortlisting candidates for further review. Once the The Committee decides on a winner, they can award the individual or organization by the end of the year.

Many women have received the Nobel Peace Prize before. In total there have been 16 female recipients of the prestigious award. That’s a low number considering it has been granted 98 times to 107 individuals and 27 organizations as of 2018. Here are three women who have one award before.

Nobel Peace Prize, Mother Teresa

Mother Teresa
Everyone knows who Mother Teresa is. Apart from being recognized as a Catholic nun, Mother Teresa was a teacher, missionary, and is still currently a saint. The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to her in 1979 for her work in India where she helped build different structures for orphans. She has also helped fund multiple charities around the world through her connections.

Nobel Peace Prize, Rigoberta Menchú Tum

Rigoberta Menchú Tum
In 1992, the Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Rigoberta Menchú Tum, a human rights activist from Guatemala. She is best known for her as a mediator between ethnic groups and the voice of indigenous people in her country. She is recognized in Latin America as one of their most fearless activists in the fight for human rights.

Wangari Maathai
Environmental activist, Wangari Maathai, made history in 2004 as the first African woman to receive the Nobel Peace Prize. Before this, she was also the first woman in East and Central Africa to earn a doctorate degree. She was awarded the coveted prize for her role in the fight for democratic rights in Kenya, as well as her sustainable efforts in her home country.

Now that it is time for The Committee to nominate and select a new recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize, we can’t help but pin our hopes on Maria Ressa. In the last few years, we’ve learned that it takes more than an army to pin her down. She has been in and out of prison for her activism and still prevails in her fight against injustices. She is currently recognized as the voice of journalists everywhere, especially in the Philippines. There is no doubt that Maria Ressa is more than qualified for the Nobel Peace Prize.